top of page

Getting through Sucktober : An educators guide to making it through the longest month for teachers

If you are new to teaching you may not know yet , but October is known as the longest month in education. There are a number of factors , but for most it is because there are less holidays, the grade period is ending , and the initial joy of meet your students and starting a new year has worn off. Although this can be a scary time *cough* and not just because Halloween can fall on a school day there are some sure ways to help you make it through.



Pumpkins

 

Take time for yourself

My key to making it / thriving in October for the last couple of years has been to take at least one day off, if possible. I try to take as few days off as possible so by this time I have likely been at work for about 8 weeks without taking one day for myself. I have strategically tried to plan at least one trip during October to force myself to take time for myself. Even if I can not take a day off I try to to do at least one staycation to reset and remind myself what I do it for.




Continue your good habits

When it starts getting darker earlier and a little cooler my instinct is to shelter in place and stop going outside. In October I have to fight that to make sure that I still work out and make myself food that makes me happy. Lately I've been holding myself accountable by working out with friends and being sure to get groceries even if I have to get them delivered . Yay for technology and us basically living in the future !


Don't procrastinate

With the grade period coming to an end and it being the time to change units it can be easy to think about putting things off so you can rest. Honestly the sooner the better is always the best policy when it comes to your teacher duties. Go ahead and grade that one stack of paper. Start those lesson plans early. It will suck temporarily , but you will feel better in the long run .


In the comment section share the ways you have been getting through October. Thrive this Fall !

25 views0 comments
bottom of page