top of page

Project Based Learning in a Tested Course


I know it seems impossible, but this year has made it completely possible for my students. As a Biology teacher in Texas there is so much pressure to get students to pass our standardized test the STAAR. This year me and my partner teacher decided this year to try a different approach Project Based Learning !! We have given our students four projects in our last four units and our students have truly enjoyed every minute. I have found that my students work harder and are much more motivated. The come into class and they know exactly what to do and how to get it done. Classroom management has completely changed for both me and my partner teacher. We completed a specialized cell project last week to end our cell unit and our students created some exceptional models using the resources that I created here:


I will create another post with the pictures of the student projects( they were amazingly detailed !) Doing this project and teaching the way I have for the last month has taught me to never doubt the potential of my students or myself as an educator. Please reach out if you need help with PBL in a Biology classroom and I would be ecstatic to assist. Until next time enjoy these free resources.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page