top of page

How attending my HBCU ,Howard Univeristy, changed my life for the better


Freshman Year in front of Blackburn

This week has been one of the most empowering weeks that I have had in a while. On Monday, I had the amazing opportunity to travel to my alma mater, Howard University, to recruit teachers for my school district. This was a full circle moment for me because almost exactly 10 years ago I committed to attending Howard as a pre-med B.S./MD student. I knew it was the school I wanted to attend from the moment I walked on campus and saw all the beautiful , intelligent, and frankly cool black people . I was with my mother and I couldn't stop smiling. I pray that my own children will at least be able to witness the beauty that is an HBCU in the spring.


After deciding to attend Howard I received some criticism from my classmates and even my parents because I passed up a scholarship to attend Georgia Tech to go to Howard. Looking back, this was one of the most important moments of my life when I started doing what felt right for me regardless of what other people thought. Once on campus I was surrounded by my peers who , for the first time, introduced my to the diversity that could be among black people. Growing up in a suburb in Georgia I didn't see much of that.


Homecoming 2010

All of the sudden I had friends from around the country and met people from around the world and we all shared the common experience of being young, gifted, and black .

I was able to take African American Studies with Dr. Carr and learn the part of history that was left out of my high school curriculum . I received opportunities to research at the National Institutes of Health as a college student. I learned how to navigate a truly urban and frankly , at the time, hood part of town with ease. That was a major feat for a young black girl coming from Stockbridge, GA.


My Pre-Med Advisor and Myself

The mentorship I received at Howard was life changing. I had people so invested in my future that they pushed me even though I wasn't sure I could do it. They picked me back up after I wasn't my admittance to medical school was cancelled and showed me there was other things I could be great at.

I attribute much of my resilience to Howard and hearing no a million times before you hear the yes that matters.

I am now 27 years old and a few weeks away from being a Founding Assistant School Leader of Academics . This would not have happened without the lessons that I learned in and out of class at my beloved HU. My goal is to open a STEM academy for black girls here in Texas and I know that I can and must do it because of Howard .

14 views0 comments
bottom of page